Meßmer Momentum, Hamburg

The founding of the East Friesian Tea Company (Ostfriesische Tee Gesellschaft OTG), as importer, producer and trading company led to a close relationship with Hamburg. In order to strengthen these ties with this German Hanseatic city and its tea trading tradition, a Flagshipstore was opened for the premium brand of “Messmer”.
The challenge here was to combine the relaxing, harmonious character of the product with the multiple facets of its brand name within the design.  Hafencity has been developed adjacent to Hamburg’s historic warehouse district, with its brick warehouses, in which wares from all over the world were once stored. Today, offices and exclusive residential living quarters, ensconced into spectacular architecture are the result. The Flagshipstore is on the Kaiserkai, with a view towards the impressive Elbphilharmonie.

Project data

Place: Am Kaiserkai 10, 20457 Hamburg
Builder: Ostfriesische Tee Gesellschaft GmbH & Co. KG, Bosteler Feld 6, 21218 Seevetal
Planning + Construction time: 2008
Erweiterung: 2016
Costs: 1.500.000 €
NGF: 640 m²
Photograph: Bernadette Grimmenstein

Architecture interprets Brand Names

Not only the position, but also the design of a building act together as a prestigious advertising rostrum. Two entrances lead into the restaurant, as well as the tea museum. An imposing view over Hafencity, in the form of an outer terrace with seating is at the back. In two so-called tea-tasting rooms visitors are able to experience firsthand how new tea varieties are developed.
The Messmer Momentum, conceived as an abode of peace and relaxation, acts as a direct contrast to the hustle and bustle of city life. Here you can relax with a cup of tea, and take time and leisure to re-think. Special areas, separated from one another, afford the necessary privacy required when enjoying tea and the atmosphere of ease and comfort encourage you to stay a while. The soft, indirect lighting, affording a harmonious atmosphere, contributes to this. The colours are mainly those of the Messmer logo, so that the company is immediately recognizable.

Attention to Detail Shapes the Overall Impression

A decisive part of successful planning lies in the transfer of the design concept into the small details. The overall concept demands that single solutions be discovered, which fit into the overall picture, but which also demonstrate a degree of individuality. If the planning details are successful, optical highlights ensue, which are noticeable at a second glance.
The Messmer Momentum reflects the product with individual facets. One aspect of this was in the colours. Navy blue and crimson are repeatedly used. Additionally, the depiction of lines and single details in gold.  After the number of visitors during the first years exceeded all expectations, the gastronomy area was extended in 2015. This Flagshipstore, home of this familiar product, is frequently to be seen in television and advertising campaigns.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Meßmer Momentum, Hamburg

Die Ostfriesische Tee Gesellschaft (OTG) ist als Importeur, Produzent und Handelsunternehmen seit ihrer Gründung mit Hamburg verbunden. Um diese Nähe zur traditionellen Teehauptstadt Deutschlands auch nach außen zu demonstrieren, sollte ein Flagshipstore für die Premiummarke des Konzerns, „Meßmer“, in der Hansestadt realisiert werden.
Die Herausforderung bestand darin, sowohl den entspannenden und harmonischen Charakter des Produktes, als auch die vielfältigen Facetten der Marke in die Gestaltung einfließen zu lassen. Direkt angrenzend an die historische Speicherstadt mit ihren Speichergebäuden aus Backstein, in denen früher Waren aus aller Welt gelagert wurde, wächst die Hafencity. Heute entstehen hier vor allem Büros, aber auch exklusiver Wohnraum in Teils spektakulärer Architektur. Der Flagshipstore befindet sich am Kaiserkai in Sichtweite der eindrucksvollen Elbphilharmonie.

Projektdaten

Ort: Am Kaiserkai 10, 20457 Hamburg
Bauherr: Ostfriesische Tee Gesellschaft GmbH & Co. KG, Bosteler Feld 6, 21218 Seevetal
Planung + Bauzeit: 2008
Erweiterung: 2016
Baukosten: 1.500.000 €
NGF: 640 m²
Fotograf: Bernadette Grimmenstein

Architektur als Interpretation der Markenwerte

Sowohl Standort als auch die bauliche Umsetzung dienen als repräsentative Webeplattform. Zwei Eingänge führen direkt ins Restaurant bzw. Tee-Museum. Zur Rückseite hin öffnet sich eine imposante Aussicht auf die Hafencity, welche auf der bestuhlten Außenterrasse genossen werden kann. In zwei sogenannten Teetaster-Räumen können Besucher hautnah miterleben, wie neue Teesorten entwickelt werden.
Das Meßmer Momentum ist als Ort der Ruhe und Entspannung konzipiert, der einen Gegenpol zur schnelllebigen und hektischen Treiben der Großstadt darstellt. Hier kann man sich bei einer Tasse Tee zurücklehnen, die Muße genießen und neue Kraft tanken. Abtrennbare Bereiche sorgen für die nötige Privatsphäre beim Teegenuss und eine Umgebung zum Wohlfühlen lädt zum Verweilen ein. Das weiche, indirekte Licht und die dadurch geschaffene harmonische Atmosphäre tragen ebenfalls dazu bei. Bei der farblichen Gestaltung überwiegen die Farben aus dem Meßmer Logo zur Erkennbarkeit des Unternehmens.

Durchdachte Details prägen Gesamteindruck

Entscheidender Teil einer erfolgreichen Planung ist die Übertragung der Entwurfsidee auf die kleinteilige Ausführungsplanung. Vom Gesamtkonzept ausgehend, sind Einzellösungen zu finden, die ins Bild passen und dennoch einen gewissen Grad an Eigenständigkeit demonstrieren. Ist diese Detailplanung gelungen, entstehen optische Highlights, die erst auf den zweiten Blick auffallen.
Das Messmer Momentum spiegelt die Marke mit ihren eigenen Facetten wieder. Ein Aspekt war der Einsatz von Farben. Immer wieder tauchen farbige Flächen in marineblau und karminrot. Hinzu kommen Linien und einzelne Details, welche in Gold gehalten sind. Nachdem die Besucherzahlen der ersten Jahre haben die Erwartungen übertroffen haben, wurden 2015 der Gastronomiebereich vergrößert. Als identitätsstiftendes Markensymbol wird der Flagshipstore in Fernseh- und Offline-Werbekampagnen eingesetzt.