Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Eichendorff School, Kronshagen

The Eichendorff School in Kronshagen is a combined primary and secondary school, with approximately 400 pupils. The outdated buildings, cramped conditions, as well as the necessity of extending the school into a full time institution, necessitated extensive architectural modifications.
Substantial renovation and new classrooms were indispensable to fulfil the demands of a modern school. This took place in six coordinated building phases, thereby allowing the daily running of the school to continue.
Following the construction of two classroom blocks, the renovation of the building for arts and sciences followed. The central entrance hall, as well as the assembly hall were completed during the third phase. The primary school pavillion was then removed and a dining room and area for all day school activities incorporated. The fifth phase was the renovation of the administration wing, before the finishing touches in the form of a school playground, access drive and parking area took place.

Project data

Place: Eichkoppelweg 26, 24119 Kronshagen
Builder: Gemeinde Kronshagen, Kopperpahler Allee 5, 24119 Kronshagen
Planning: 2005
Construction time: 2006 – 2007
Costs: 6.513.000 €
Total Area: 6.130 m²
Photograph: Bernadette Grimmenstein

Architectural Design suiting innovative education requirements

This modern design coordinated new and existing buildings into one functional unit. Attention was paid to a pupil-friendly architecture, affording a suitable atmosphere for learning.
In line with modern guidelines, two classes share a house, with one entrance and group area. This enables the practice of modern teaching methods. The spacious, school playground, incorporating green areas, is suitable for sports and is accessible from the classrooms. All buildings have wheelchair accessibility.
A new library with computer terminals, as well as group and working rooms all combine to offer a basis to educational requirements of today.

Atmosphere created to inspire Teaching and Learning

The architectural focus lay in the creation of space for active communication between individuals.  The spacious assembly hall forms the new centre of the school and can be used for various activities. Nearby is the dining room, which opens upwards to a terraced area.
The wide, light corridors generate a warm atmosphere and the feel-good factor created, invites the individual to stay. Warm, convivial colours outside and in enhance the building. This continues on existing buildings, where energy-saving modifications took place.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Eichendorff-Schule, Kronshagen

Die Eichendorff-Schule in Kronshagen ist eine Grund- und Hauptschule mit ca. 400 Schülern. Die veralteten Bestandsgebäude, die beengte Raumsituation sowie die funktionale Erweiterung zu einer offenen Ganztagsschule erforderten umfassende architektonische Veränderungen.
Ziel ist es gewesen, durch eine umfangreiche Sanierung und Schaffung neuer Unterrichtsräume, die Anforderungen an eine moderne Schule zu erfüllen. Durch sechs aufeinander abgestimmte Bauphasen konnten die Maßnahmen im laufenden Betrieb durchgeführt werden.
Nach der Errichtung zweier Klassenhäuser, wurde das Fachklassengebäude saniert und im dritten Schritt die zentrale Eingangshalle mit der Aula neu gebaut. Daran anschließend wurde der Grundschul-Pavillon abgerissen und die Mensa sowie der Ganztagesbereich fertig gestellt. Der fünfte Abschnitt umfasste den Umbau des Verwaltungstraktes, bevor abschließend der Schulhof, die Zuwegung und die Parkplatzanlage erstellt wurden.

Projektdaten

Ort: Eichkoppelweg 26, 24119 Kronshagen
Bauherr: Gemeinde Kronshagen, Kopperpahler Allee 5, 24119 Kronshagen
Planung: 2005
Bauzeit: 2006 – 2007
Baukosten: 6.513.000 €
BGF: 6.130 m²
Fotograf: Bernadette Grimmenstein

Architektonische Gestaltung eines innovativen Bildungsraumes

Durch ein übergreifendes Gestaltungskonzept wurden die neuen und bestehenden Baukörper zu einer gemeinsamen funktionalen Einheit entwickelt. Die möglichst schülerfreundliche Architektur des Gebäudes im Sinne eines Ortes des ganzheitlichen Lernens stand dabei im Vordergrund.
Nach modernen Prinzipien sind in den Klassenhäusern je zwei Klassen um einen gemeinsamen Eingangs- und Gruppenbereich angeordnet. Dadurch wurde eine flexible und zeitgemäße Gestaltung des Unterrichts ermöglicht. Der große Schulhof mit Sport- und Grünflächen in differenzierten Bereichen, ist direkt von den Klassenräumen zu erreichen. Wie generell sämtliche Gebäudeteile, ist auch dieser komplett barrierefrei erschlossen.
Durch die Etablierung einer neuen Bibliothek mit Computerarbeitsplätzen sowie eine Vielzahl von frei nutzbaren Gruppen- und Arbeitsräumen wurde die Grundlage für eine strukturelle Ausweitung des Bildungsangebotes geschaffen.

Schaffung einer inspirierenden Lern- und Lehratmosphäre

Ein Schwerpunkt der Architektur lag darauf, Plätze zu schaffen, in welchen der kommunikative Austausch aktiv gefördert wird. Die großzügige Aula bildet das neue Zentrum der Schule und kann für vielfältige Aktivitäten genutzt werden. Hieran angrenzend ist der Speiseraum der Mensa angeordnet, der über einen Zugang zum vorgelagerten Terrassenbereich verfügt.
Die breiten und hellen Flurzonen erzeugen eine warme Atmosphäre, welche eine hohe Aufenthaltsqualität bietet und damit zum Verweilen einlädt. Sowohl in den Innenbereichen, als auch an den außenliegenden Fassaden bestimmt eine freundliche Farbgebung das Gebäude. Dieses Gestaltungsmerkmal ist ebenfalls auf die bestehenden Gebäudeteile übernommen worden, wo es im Rahmen der zeitgemäßen Wärmeschutzsanierung umgesetzt wurde.