Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Carl-Maria-von-Weber School, Eutin

The Carl-Maria-von- Weber School is a five-stream grammar school.  Initially located in five single buildings, dating from 1906 until 1985 and not always connected with one another, it was in dire need of a radical change.  Its urban site, the busy streets and paths, located on all four sides of the existing school were criteria that a new design should create additional space and convert the school into one architectural, functioning unit.
The new design streamlined the internal structure of the school, establishing logical, internal links. A new science wing, as well as computer and geography classrooms for the upper school followed, with a dining hall and cafeteria, as well as new administration and staff rooms.

Project data

Place: Plöner Str. 15, 23701 Eutin
Builder: Stadt Eutin, Markt 1, 23701 Eutin
Planning: 2011 – 2012
Construction time: 2012 – 2013
Costs: 6.500.000 €
Total Area: 4.5000 m²
Photograph: rimpf Architektur

Modern Classrooms for up-to-date teaching

The science wing for the upper school was extended and a multi-functional hall resulted. Thus, the grammar school, with its 700 pupils, was provided with the most modern and well-equipped classrooms and practice rooms, collection and preparation rooms for physics, biology, and chemistry. The chemistry laboratory is unprecedented, with eight laboratory units, each one equipped for 3 pupils to carry out experiments independently from the others.
Additionally, the school computer room and four group areas were designed in order to cut out the chronic overcrowding in the school. These rooms are equipped with modern, interactive whiteboards, with internet connections.

Atrium – the focal point of the new School

The purpose of the new design was to unite the existing architectural periods in the school building. The U-shape form of the new building, connected to the existing buildings, allowed for an inner green, roofed courtyard, which had the function of a central Atrium, a focal point of daily school activity. A Mediterranean feeling prevails, it as this area is an important meeting point and communication junction. The area is multi-functional, as an assembly hall or for theatre presentations.
Bridges in the new Atrium between the new and old building constructions solved the problem of the different levels, which previously existed. A lift ensured that the school was now accessible for handicapped individuals.
The dining hall and cafeteria are located on the ground floor of the old building, next to the courtyard.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Carl-Maria-von-Weber Schule,
Eutin

Die Carl-Maria-von-Weber Schule ist ein fünfzügiges Gymnasium, das vor der Baumaßnahme in fünf einzelnen Gebäuden aus den Jahren 1906 bis 1985 untergebracht war, die zum Teil nicht über innere Verbindungen verfügten. Das innerstädtische Grundstück ist vierseitig von öffentlichen Straßen und Wegen begrenzt. Neben der Schaffung zusätzlicher Flächen bestand das Ziel des Erweiterungsbaus vor allem darin, die Schule zur architektonischen und funktionalen Einheit weiter zu entwickeln.
Mit dem umgesetzten Entwurf konnten die innere Struktur der Schule gestrafft und logische, interne Verbindungen hergestellt werden. Die Bauaufgabe umfasste den Neubau der Naturwissenschaften für die Oberstufe, EDV- und Erdkunderäume, die Verwirklichung einer Mensa und Cafeteria sowie die Neuordnung der Verwaltung und der Lehrerarbeitsräume.

Projektdaten

Ort: Plöner Str. 15, 23701 Eutin
Bauherr: Stadt Eutin, Markt 1, 23701 Eutin
Planung: 2011 – 2012
Bauzeit: 2012 – 2013
Baukosten: 6.500.000 €
BGF: 4.5000 m²
Fotograf: rimpf Architektur

Moderne Fachklassen für zeitgemäßen Unterricht

Der Fachklassentrakt wurde im Bereich der Oberstufe um einen geschlossenen, multifunktional nutzbaren Hallenraum erweitert. Das Gymnasium mit nahezu 700 Schülerinnen und Schülern erhält damit hochmoderne und voll ausgestattete Fachklassen, Übungsräume, Sammlungs- und Vorbereitungsräume für die Physik, Biologie und Chemie. Beispiellos ist hierbei der Chemieübungsraum, welcher über acht Laborabzügen verfügt, an denen jeweils drei Schüler Übungen und Experimente selbstständig ausführen können.
Neben den Fachklassen wurden noch ein Schüler-Computerraum sowie vier Gruppenräume realisiert, um die chronische Raumnot der Schule zu lindern. Alle Räume verfügen über moderne „interaktive Whiteboards“ und Internetanschlüsse.

Atrium als neuer Mittelpunkt der Schule

Die Bauaufgabe wurde entwurflich geschickt dazu genutzt, um die Architektur, der aus verschiedenen Epochen stammenden Gebäude, miteinander zu verklammern. Der Neubau wurde deshalb u-förmig an zwei Bestandsgebäude angelegt. Mit dem dadurch gebildeten Innenhof, der sowohl begrünt als auch überdacht ist, entstand so ein zentrales multifunktionales Atrium. Inzwischen ist dieses mit seinem mediterranen Flair zum Verkehrsknotenpunkt, Aufenthaltsort und in der Folge zum Kommunikationsmittelpunkt der gesamten Schule geworden. Die Atmosphäre ermöglicht eine vielfältige Nutzung des Innenhofes, beispielweise als Aula oder bei Theaterinstallationen.
Gleichzeitig konnten über den Innenhof mittels Brücken zwischen Neu- und Altbau zuvor existente Niveauunterschiede der Altbauten egalisiert werden. Mit dem Einbau eines Personenaufzuges ist der Großteil der Schule nun auch behindertengerecht erreichbar.
Die Mensa und Cafeteria wurden im Erdgeschossbereich angrenzend an den Innenhof im frei gewordenen Altbau realisiert.