Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Annex and New Construction for the STS Walddörfer, Hamburg

The six-stream school, situated in the area of Volksdorf in Hamburg, in close proximity to the Walddörfer Gymnasium is visited by some 1 280 pupils. Directly south is the Walddörfer Gymnasium itself, a protected building, built in 1931 using plans of Fritz Schumacher.

Project data

Place: Ahrensburger Weg 30, 22359 Hamburg
Builder: SBH | Schulbau Hamburg, An der Stadthausbrücke 1, 20355 Hamburg
Planning: 
Construction time:
Costs:
Net Area: 
Photograph: Hagen Stier

Seating Alcoves and generous Learning Areas

Following a demolition of the building 02, rimpf Architecture carried out the necessary alterations required for the new Annex as a solitaire. A canteen was envisaged on the ground floor, with cafeteria and kiosk, including adjoining rooms.  A stage in the canteen establishes a podium construction .  Six classrooms on the upper floor, each one incorporating a room for differentiation followed. rimpf Architecture divided the areas in compartments of < 200m² leaving room along the fire escape routes for seating niches and generous central learning areas.

Rain protected Schoolyard with Recreation Areas

Because of the variety of uses of the ground and upper floors, rimpf’s design envisages that the upper floor overhangs the school recreation area at both ends, affording protection against rain.
According to standard building laws, the ground floor building is classified as an assembly area. When introducing a fire protection concept, the upper floor of the building falls under a Classification 3.

Warm, natural materials such as Brick facing and Wood-Aluminium-Windows

The building is a solid construction, the outer façade encased in red-brown brick facing. The windows and facades are of wood-alumium-insulating glass. The glass façade on the ground floor is of double glazed window elements and part louvre windows, ensuring natural air circulation. This is mechanically controlled, which is ideal for air circulation in a canteen or recreation area of this type. All floors are laid with linoleum, the walls painted in light colours. Suspended ceilings were incorporated in order to create acoustics, suitable in a school building.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Zu- und Ersatzneubau für die STS Walddörfer, Hamburg

Die 6-zügige STS befindet sich im Hamburger Stadtteil Volksdorf in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Walddörfer Gymnasium. Zurzeit besuchen ca. 1280 Schülerinnen und Schüler die Schule. In der direkten Nachbarschaft im Süden befindet sich das denkmalgeschützte Walddörfer Gymnasium, das 1931 nach den Plänen von Fritz Schumacher fertiggestellt wurde.

Projektdaten

Ort: Ahrensburger Weg 30, 22359 Hamburg
Bauherr: SBH | Schulbau Hamburg, An der Stadthausbrücke 1, 20355 Hamburg
Planung: 
Bauzeit:
Baukosten:
NGF: 
Fotograf: Hagen Stier

Sitznischen und großzügige Lernzonen

rimpf Architektur realisierte den vorgesehenen Zu- und Ersatzbau als Solitär auf dem freiwerdenden Baufeld nach Abriss des Gebäudes 02. Erdgeschossig wurden eine Mensa mit angeschlossener Cafeteria und Kiosk sowie die dazugehörigen Nebenräume geplant. Die Szenefläche in der Mensa erhielt ein fest eingebautes Podest. Im Obergeschoss befinden sich auf einer Ebene 6 Klassenräume mit je angeschlossenem Differenzierungsraum. Rimpf Architektur teilte die Flächen in Compartments < 200qm und konnte dadurch entlang der Fluchtwege Flächen für Sitznischen und großzügige sowie zentrale Lernzonen ausweisen.

Regen geschützte Schulhof- und Aufenthaltsflächen

Durch die unterschiedlichen Flächenanforderungen an Erd- und Obergeschoss lässt der Entwurf von rimpf Architektur das Obergeschoss zum Schulhof an beiden Enden auskragen, das dadurch Regen geschützte Schulhof- und Aufenthaltsflächen ermöglicht.
Das Gebäude wird baurechtlich im Erdgeschoss als Versammlungsstätte bewertet. Mit Erstellung des Brandschutzkonzeptes wurde die Einstufung des Obergeschosses als Gebäude der „Gebäudeklasse 3“ bewertet.

Warme natürliche Materialien wie Verblendziegel und Holz-Alu-Fenster

Das Gebäude wurde in massiver Bauart errichtet und die Außenfassade mit rotbraunen Verblendziegeln verkleidet. Die Fenster und Fassaden wurden als Holz-Aluminium-Isolierglasfenster eingebaut. Die Glasfassade im Erdgeschoss besteht aus wärmeschutzverglasten Fensterelementen, teilweise mit Lamellenfenstern zur natürlichen Querlüftung. Diese wird mechanisch gesteuert und bildet die notwendige mechanische Be- und Entlüftung für die Nutzung als Mensabereich respektive Versammlungsstätte. die Fußböden in Innenbereich erhielten im Wesentlichen Linoleum Beläge, die Wände wurden hell gestrichen. Im Gebäude wurden reversible Abhangdecken eingebaut, um die erforderliche Akustik für den Schulbau zu erreichen.