Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Baltic Sea Terraces, Eckernförde

Situated on a steep, westerly slope, approximately 20m above sea level, below one of Eckernförde’s most popular residential streets, this residence enjoys one of the most stunning views over the bay and the open Baltic Sea.
The site, 12m in width, 50m in length with an 9m elevation, required access from the upper end. This demanded a special design concept. The unique east view and the desire for sunshine throughout the day, were only a few of the priorities to be considered.

Project data

Place: Sehestedter Str. 61, 24340 Eckernförde
Builder: k.A.
Planning: 2014 – 2015
Construction time: 2015 – 2016
Costs: k.A.
Living Space: 410 m²
Net Area: 527 m²
Photograph: Hagen Stier

Maritime Design with large open Terraces

Obviously, a building had to be planned on a slope, with terraces stretching  towards the east. Adequate privacy was of the essence, so each terrace, constructed with an awning, prevented a view over other terraces. The span of the ceilings over the total width of the house enabled an individual design concept for the interior.
The easterly, as well as the adjacent façades were completely glazed, providing a smooth transition between the interior and exterior. The “navigation bridge”, situated on the highest point of the building, with a 3-dimensionally curved roof, completed the “maritime” feeling of the design, further emphasized by the terrace railings.

Innovative construction and custom made production

In order to carry out such ambitious building design, innovation was of the essence. Free movement between the terraces was possible through vacuum insulation.  A special sky light construction, developed for the zenith lighting, was integrated into the terrace planks. A curved roof and the outer façade below had to be pre-constructed in two parts and bound together in the space of one day. This was perhaps the greatest challenge during the project.
The overall roof, designed like a ship’s hull using a special architecture cad programme, was constructed in sections on CNC coordinated machines, assembled together and GRP laminated.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Ostseeterrassen, Eckernförde

Das Grundstück liegt unterhalb einer der beliebtesten Wohnstraßen in Eckernförde, ca. 20 m über dem Meeresspiegel an einem steilen Westhang. Von hier aus bietet sich ein atemberaubender Blick auf die Eckernförder Bucht bis zur offenen Ostsee.
Der Zuschnitt des Grundstücks mit nur 12 m Breite, einer Länge von ca. 50 m und einer Höhendifferenz von 9 m sowie der Erschließung von der oberen Schmalseite aus, erforderte ein besonderes Baukonzept. Die einmalige Aussicht nach Osten und der Wunsch nach möglichst ganztägiger Besonnung waren weitere Bedingungen für den Entwurf.

Projektdaten

Ort: Sehestedter Str. 61, 24340 Eckernförde
Bauherr: k.A.
Planung: 2014 – 2015
Bauzeit: 2015 – 2016
Baukosten: k.A.
WF: 410 m²
NGF: 527 m²
Fotograf: Hagen Stier

Maritimer Entwurf
mit großzügigen Terrassendecks

Es war deshalb naheliegend ein Gebäude zu entwerfen, das sich terrassenartig dem Hang folgend nach Osten hin öffnet. Die jeweils vorgelagerten Terrassen haben vorspringende Vordächer, die den Einblick von den darunterliegenden Terrassen verhindern und so ausreichende Privatsphäre gewährleisten. Durch die Spannweite der Decken über die Hausbreite konnten die Innenräume individuell gestaltet werden.
Durch die komplette Verglasung der Ostfassade sowie der angrenzenden Fassaden, wurde ein nahtloser Übergang zwischen Innen und Außen erreicht. Die „Kommandobrücke“ an oberster Stelle des Gebäudes mit dem dreidimensional geschwungenen Dach prägt die Gestalt des Gebäudes in besonderer Weise und nimmt Bezug auf die maritime Umgebung. Die Schiffsgeländer der Terrassen unterstreichen den gewollten maritimen Bezug.

Innovative Konstruktion
und spezielle Anfertigung

Konstruktiv waren Innovationen notwendig um die Gestalt des Gebäudes und die anspruchsvolle Gestaltung zu realisieren. Der schwellenlose Übergang zu den Terrassen wurde durch Vakuumdämmung realisiert. Zur Zenitbelichtung musste eine Sonderkonstruktion für ein Oberlicht entwickelt werden, damit dieses begehbar in die Planken der Terrasse integriert werden konnte. Das geschwungene Dach und die darunter befindliche Außenfassade wurden vorgefertigt und an der Baustelle aus zwei Teilen innerhalb eines Tages zusammengesetzt. Dies war konstruktiv und in der Materialität die größte Herausforderung.
Wie ein Schiffsrumpf ist das Dach mit speziellen CAD-Freiformprogrammen entworfen und konstruiert worden. Nach Herstellung aller Einzelteile auf CNC gesteuerten Maschinen wurden diese wie ein Steckspiel zusammengebaut, beplankt und mit GFK laminiert.